Nomination deadline: April 6, 2015.
Learn more here.
Read about Nikhil's Law, recently signed into legislation.
If a person is under 21 years old or has never had a driver license, New Jersey requires that they complete a period of supervised driving before getting a basic driver license. The New Jersey Graduated Driver License (GDL) program introduces driving privileges in phases.There are three options to complete the program:
Each option has different steps, but upon completion of all steps, drivers are awarded an unrestricted basic driver license.
Drivers holding a GDL license have the following restrictions placed upon them:
For more information on GDL requirements and restrictions click here.
The NJ Motor Vehicle Commission is distributing the decal, which must be displayed on a vehicle's front and rear license plate when a permit or probationary license holder under 21 years of age is driving.The decal can help prevent new drivers from being involved in a crash and is:
Studies show that a young driver's risk of being involved in a car crash is highest within his/her first 12-24 months of driving. An average of 6,000 teens die in car crashes nationally each year.
An additional 300,000 teens sustain injuries in crashes; many of those injuries are serious and often life-altering. In fact, car crashes are the leading cause of brain injury in teens. By delaying full driving privileges so that teens can gain driving experience under low-risk conditions, comprehensive GDL programs can reduce these deaths and injuries by approximately 40%. The ultimate goal of the GDL program is to protect the lives of young drivers-and the lives of their passengers and others on the road.
GDL holders cannot "plea down" to "no point" offenses. If a GDL holder accumulates three or more penalty points, they have to complete a driver improvement program. If they fail to complete this program, or if they accumulate additional points, it will result in suspension and postponement of their eligibility to obtain a probationary (if in the permit phase) or basic license (if in the probationary phase). In addition, violations may incur legal fees and/or higher insurance rates. This can cost thousands of dollars. GDL holders must obey all traffic rules and regulations. It can save money... and their lives.
If there is a proven need to drive during the prohibited time for work and/or religious purposes, exemptions do exist. For an exemption, a driver must carry a written certification on official letterhead, which is signed by an employer or religious figure.
After completing 12 months on the probationary license, your teen is then eligible to apply for a basic driver license. Please note that the probationary license does not automatically become a basic license. Drivers who fail to do so, will remain subject to the Probationary Driver License restrictions.
Your supervision and guidance, along with this information, can help your new driver reduce his/her risk of being involved in a crash.